Justus von Liebig
The chronicle of salt mining in Berchtesgaden goes back to the 12th century. In 1193, the salt mining starts on the Tuval near Schellenberg. In 1994, salt mining is mentioned on the Gollnbach in Berchtesgaden.
Reichenbach builds the brine pipeline to Bad Reichenhall
In 1816, the Royal Bavarian Salt Refinery Council, Georg von Reichenbach, receives the commission from King Max 1st and his minister, Count Montgelas, to plan and build the brine pipeline from Berchtesgaden to Bad Reichenhall. On 22 December 1817, the first Berchtesgaden brine already runs in the wooden “deicheln” (wooden pipes) to Bad Reichenhall. Today, one of the 14-ton bronze pumps can be seen in the Salt Mine, while others are in the Old Salt Works in Bad Reichenhall and in the Deutsches Museum in Munich. The course of the brine pipeline can be followed on the beautiful hiking path from Berchtesgaden to Ramsau.
In 2007, the former operating salt mines in Berchtesgaden were transformed into a museum and display for visitors called Erlebnisbergwerk. Through a complete reconstruction, the visitor discovers a completely new, modern underground experience on the Salt Time Journey, combined with the venerable tradition of mining.
The Berchtesgaden Salt Mine has a special attraction for visitors: take the train inside the mountain and discover the salt mine for yourself. Take a ride on the long slides, cross the Spiegelsee Lake, and learn interesting facts about the Berchtesgaden Salt Mine and salt mining.
Information:Address: Salzbergwerk Berchtesgaden